Health Magazines @ EGSC
Research Resources
Databases
Having trouble finding resources with a Discovery search? Try searching one (or several!) of the databases below for more focused results.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts. - Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new windowChild Development & Adolescent Studies™ provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text provides access to full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. - Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Consumer Health Database covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context; from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
- Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Health and Medical Complete offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals, including many indexed in MEDLINE. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles and more. Conducting searches on the ProQuest platform helps derive relevant clinical data quicker; the deep indexing of records means that core research findings usually hidden in images and figures within articles come to the fore as part of researcher's search results.
- Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Paid for by East Georgia State College Library. Users can manipulate and explore 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding. - MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. MEDLINE with Full Text includes over 500 titles not included in Academic Search Complete. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Paid for by East Georgia State College Library. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. - Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Public Health Database is the ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public health terminology. - ScienceDirect Life and Health Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Paid for by East Georgia State College Library. Full-text of over 900 current journals in the life and health sciences, with back issues of 100 more.
-
American Cancer SocietyThis resource has information about all aspects of cancer - statistics, prevention, treatment, and research.
-
American Diabetes AssociationThis site has resources for people who have diabetes and information about prevention and research related to the field.
-
American Heart AssociationThis site has statistics and information about cardiovascular disease.
-
The Mayo ClinicRecognized as the top hospital in the United States, the Mayo Clinic provides lots of information on healthcare and current research projects.
-
National Institutes of HealthSee this site for health information, news, research and training information for healthcare professionals.
-
Nutrition.gov"Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers." From the USDA.
-
Nutrition Information SheetsThis site has informational fact sheets on nutrition topics made available by the University of California, Davis.
-
President's Council on Fitness, Sports & NutritionThis site covers several sets of reports, statistics, and programs to encourage healthy, active living.
-
SHAPE AmericaUse this site to find guidelines, resources, and publications related to health and physical education, physical activity, dance, and sport.
-
Website of the Surgeon GeneralThis site details the public initiatives, reports, and publications from the office of the Surgeon General.
These professional organizations provide many benefits for students studying sociology including mentorship, information on career paths, and recent research projects by members.
When you are searching the web for information, remember to ask these questions:
|
- CRAAP!: How to Evaluate Online InformationUse this handout from California State University, Chico for more information.
- Evaluating SourcesThis video tutorial explains how to evaluate a source. [Made by librarians at Western Libraries at Western University under the license CC BY-NC-ND 3.0]