Skip to Main Content

Information Literacy Instruction

Library Presentations

Woman pushing man on library cart gif

Note: All times are approximate and can be modified to fit your availability.

For our CATS courses, we introduce new students to their academic library while understanding that many of them may not be familiar with libraries at all. We discuss the importance of the library during the inevitable research process in higher education and what it has available for checkout.

A typical session includes:

  • An introduction to the different types of resources available at the library.
  • A brief overview of the library website.
  • Searching GIL-Find to locate books and e-books.
  • An introduction to GALILEO and performing basic searches.
  • Demonstrating how to contact a librarian for assistance.

[approximately 20-30 min.]

 

By the end of a CATS information instruction session, students should be able to:
  • Understand when information or research is needed.
  • Identify types of resources available from the library.
  • Perform basic keyword search on the library homepage’s main search bar.
  • Understand the concept of intellectual property and practice academic honesty.
  • Understand why citations are ethically important.

 

*To best tailor our instruction to your course or assignment, please request a session one week in advance.

Shuri from Black Panther gif

Note: All times are approximate and can be modified to fit your availability.

For students enrolled in Composition I or II, our sessions focus on research skills. This type of session works best for students who are working on a research-based assignment; however, with the inclusion of a general overview of library services, this session is beneficial for all students no matter where they are in the research process.

Typical sessions include:

  • A general overview of library services.
  • Developing topics to identify keywords and synonyms.
  • Designing a search strategy that includes several appropriately constructed keyword strings.
  • Performing GALILEO searches using built-in search filters and tools to narrow search results (includes Boolean Operators).
  • Locating books, articles, and other resources as appropriate to the assignment.

[approximately 45-50 min.]

 

By the end of a Composition information session, students should be able to:
  • Define the scope of the investigation with a clear research question.
  • Identify keywords based on a research question.
  • Develop search strategies and use library catalogs and databases to find relevant material.
  • Locate and search within subject specific databases.
  • Integrate and cite evidence appropriately.

 

*To best tailor our instruction to your course or assignment, please request a session one week in advance.

Research gif

Note: All times are approximate and can be modified to fit your availability.

Our sessions for students enrolled in these courses center around advanced GALILEO research skills. These sessions help to develop search skills and differentiate between types of sources. They work best for students who have received prior information instruction but can include a brief review of previous sessions for all students. 

Sessions typically focus on:

  • Using critical thinking skills to modify research strategies.
  • Performing GALILEO searches and using search filters to narrow results.
  • Editing and refining keyword strings to find specific types of subject-specific resources.

[approximately 45-50 min.]

[can include a 30 min group activity/discussion, if requested]

 

By the end of an advanced GALILEO session, students should be able to:
  • Perform multi-level (multiple keywords, database specific limiters, Boolean, truncation, etc.) searches in discipline specific databases.
  • Acquire and critically evaluate data, information, and research appropriate for the field.
  • Identify and understand assumptions and theses that exist in the work of others.
  • Locate and search within subject specific databases.
  • Ask meaningful questions, originate plausible theses, and identify their own underlying assumptions.

 

*To best tailor our instruction to your course or assignment, please request a session one week in advance.

You can also schedule a library one-shot! One-shot instruction can be held on any campus for any course in the library classroom, in your classroom, or virtually. We are also happy to partner with you to design a workshop to complement your assignments and courses.

Cat on books gif

Note: All times are approximate and can be modified to fit your availability.

Sample One-shot Instruction Sessions

These can be stand-alone one-shots or combined into a customized presentation that is a unique, discipline-specific session.

Topic & Keyword Development [10 min.]

Finding Books & E-books [10 min.]

Primary & Secondary Sources [10 min.]

Popular & Scholarly Sources [10 min.]

Overview of a Specific Database [20 min.]

Reading & Understanding Parts of a Scholarly Article [20 min.]

Creating Citations & Avoiding Plagiarism [15-30 min.]

Copyright & Fair Use [15 min.]

Ask-a-Librarian Discussion Board in D2L [one-time or semester long]

Librarian-Assisted Independent Workshop Time

 

*To best tailor our instruction to your course or assignment, please request a session one week in advance.

Looking for an information literacy topic we haven’t listed?

We can design a workshop with you!

Contact Amber Hodges at aamerso2@ega.edu for more information.

Finger pointing to the left

*To best tailor our instruction to your course or assignment, please request a session one week in advance.