Heritage Center
The Heritage Center
The Heritage Center, a part of the East Georgia State College Library:
- Serves as an instrument for preserving historical data
- Stimulates historical interest
- Fosters collaboration with historical societies and area public libraries
Specifically, the collection includes:
- Various print items
- Images
- Manuscripts
- Maps
- Artifacts
- Microforms
- Digital and audio-visual materials focusing on local history and genealogical research, Emanuel County history, and Georgia history.
As such the collection includes many items that are unique, historical, rare, and/or irreplaceable. Just as the college has expanded its geographical presence in recent years through the growth of enrollment, establishment of additional campuses, creation of collaborative programs with area technical institutes and development of economic development activities, the Heritage Center allows it to have major impact on its service area in terms of historical and cultural understanding and awareness.
The Heritage Center initiative represents a historic opportunity for East Georgia State College and the communities it serves. For more information about the East Georgia State College Heritage Center, please click here.
Ehlrich Collection
The Ehrlich Military History Collection
Named for Mr. Bennie M. Ehrlich, the Ehrlich Military History Collection was created in 1991.
Benjamin Mathew Ehrlich was a graduate of Columbia University in New York and a veteran of the United States Navy during World War I and the United States Coast Guard during World War II. He helped to found the Swainsboro American Legion Post 102 and served as the American Legion Post Commander as well as was a Captain in the Georgia State Guard. He was a business owner and farmer in Emanuel County and was involved in many philanthropic efforts including:
- the March of Dimes
- Exchange Club
- Swainsboro Jaycees
- Franklin Memorial Library
- Emanuel County Heritage Commission
- Emanuel County Historic Preservation Society
- Emanuel County Junior College and East Georgia College, and many others
Upon his death, funds were collected to create the "Ehrlich Memorial History Collection" in honor of "Mr. Bennie's" life-long contributions to the college and to the community. On October 17, 1991, the Ehrlich Military History Collection was dedicated by Dr. Willie D. Gunn, President of East Georgia College. The plaque reads:
This memorial is dedicated to the memory of Mr. Bennie Ehrlich, Patriot, Friend, "Doer of Good Deeds - Known and Unknown," Community-Minded Citizen, Fervent Advocate of Higher Education and East Georgia College, and Orthodox Member of the Jewish Faith.
The Ehrlich Military History Collection contains books and media items related to military history of all types. Materials in this collection circulate according to the EGSC Library's normal circulation policy.