Professor Emeritus of History
Coordinator, Heritage Center
Office: (478) 289-2102
Fax: (478) 289-2141
Processing Librarian, Heritage Center
Office: (478) 289-2087
The Heritage Center, a part of the East Georgia State College Library, serves as an instrument for preserving historical data, stimulating historical interest and fostering collaboration with historical societies and area public libraries. Specifically, the collection includes various print items, images, manuscripts, maps, artifacts, microforms, and digital and audio-visual materials focusing on local history and genealogical research, Emanuel County history, and Georgia history. As such the collection includes many items that are unique, historical, rare, and/or irreplaceable. Just as the college has expanded its geographical presence in recent years through the growth of enrollment, establishment of additional campuses, creation of collaborative programs with area technical institutes and development of economic development activities, the Heritage Center allows it to have major impact on its service area in terms of historical and cultural understanding and awareness. The Heritage Center initiative represents a historic opportunity for East Georgia State College and the communities it serves.
The EGSC Library and Heritage Center house various microfilm such as:
Letters of J. William Rheney; 1839 - 1864.
Publisher: Atlanta: Ben W. Fortson, Ju., Secretary of State, 1955
The Forest Blade, a Swainsboro newspaper, is available on microflim from 1901,1908-2001, 2009-2010
Georgia Historical Society (1927-1947)(1965-1967)(1969-1972)
Slave schedule of the eighth census of the United States 1860
Antietam These slides were created from pictures taken of scenes in books as well as photographs taken at the actual, present-day location of the Antietam Battlefield. Dr. John K. Derden and Dr. James Stevenson.
Emanuel County Historic Preservation Society Trips to Westville, Georgia and Sea Island, Georgia 1978-1979
The Ancestry Library Edition collection available through GALILEO has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as:
There are several databases available through GALILEO that contains archives to newspapers published in Georgia.