John K. Derden, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of History
Coordinator, Heritage Center
Office: (478) 289-2102
Fax: (478) 289-2141
Bonnie Nash
Meghan Crews
Library Director, Heritage Center
Office: (478) 289-2087
mmcrews@ega.edu
The Heritage Center, a part of the East Georgia State College Library, serves as an instrument for preserving historical data, stimulating historical interest and fostering collaboration with historical societies and area public libraries. Specifically, the collection includes various print items, images, manuscripts, maps, artifacts, microforms, and digital and audio-visual materials focusing on local history and genealogical research, Emanuel County history, and Georgia history. As such the collection includes many items that are unique, historical, rare, and/or irreplaceable. Just as the college has expanded its geographical presence in recent years through the growth of enrollment, establishment of additional campuses, creation of collaborative programs with area technical institutes and development of economic development activities, the Heritage Center allows it to have major impact on its service area in terms of historical and cultural understanding and awareness. The Heritage Center initiative represents a historic opportunity for East Georgia State College and the communities it serves.
The EGSC Library and Heritage Center house various microfilm such as:
The Forest Blade, a Swainsboro newspaper, is available on microflim from 1901,1908-2001, 2009-2010
Georgia Historical Society (1927-1947)(1965-1967)(1969-1972)
Slave schedule of the eighth census of the United States 1860
Slides
Antietam These slides were created from pictures taken of scenes in books as well as photographs taken at the actual, present-day location of the Antietam Battlefield. Dr. John K. Derden and Dr. James Stevenson.
Emanuel County Historic Preservation Society Trips to Westville, Georgia and Sea Island, Georgia 1978-1979
The Ancestry Library Edition collection available through GALILEO has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as:
- U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940
- Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps
- American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes)
- Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes)
- The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630
- Social Security Death Index (updated monthly)
- WWI Draft Registration Cards
- Federal Slave Narratives
- Civil War collection
There are several databases available through GALILEO that contains archives to newspapers published in Georgia.
- The Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC) This link opens in a new windowThe Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC) through the ProQuest National Newspaper collection provides online access to the AJC from 1990 to the present.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowChronicling America provides access to nearly 3,000 digitized newspapers. The site was developed as an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Use Chronicling America to search digitized newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information.
- Georgia Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia's Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use.
- News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.